Meditation is an opportunity to relax, connect and reflect. Think of your mind as a mirror which reflects and directs light. Your light, which is love and consciousness, flows towards that which you pay attention to. What do you pay attention to throughout the day? Is what you pay attention to, where you want to share your light, love, and life force? 

Meditation is a practice of non-judgement, self acceptance, and self love. It’s also been proven scientifically to enhance gray matter which helps your brain stay young and fit.

Guided Meditations: Enjoy these guided 11 minute meditations. Continue in silence as long as you like following meditations.

Meditation.1  Meditation with Contemplation
Meditation.2 Exploring Emotion

The Five Types of Meditation:

  1. Relaxation – guided visualization.
  2. Expansion – guided visualization.
  3. Concentration – on an object such as the breath, a candle and the Shri Yantra.
  4. Contemplation on Mantras (Mahavakyas – grand statements of the Upanishads) and values presented in the Bhagavad Gita.
  5. Meditation on the Meditator – subject meditation. Meditating on consciousness as consciousness.

With regards to the three yoga practices used in Vedanta: Karma Yoga, Upasana Yoga and Jnana Yoga, meditation primarily falls into Upasana but also Jnana with type 5, meditation on the meditator.

Helpful Hints:

  • Find a quiet and uninterrupted space.
  • Best time to practice, any time really but early morning is best to set the intention for the day.
  • Sit comfortably with an upright spine. Don’t lay down unless you wish to nap. It is not necessary to sit in the full lotus, just be comfortable, with cushion or blanket on the ground or in a chair.
  • There are many mudras or hand positions that support the practice. Jnana mudra is a nice choice, where the palms face up, tips of the pointing fingers touch tips of the thumbs. Let hands to rest on thighs with other three fingers on each hand splayed open.
  • Begin meditating for a few minutes and build up to twenty or thirty minutes.
  • Breathe naturally through your nose, just relax and be yourself 😉
  • If your mind is spinning with lots of emotion and thought, stop meditating and practice Karma Yoga which reduces the power behind emotion and thought. After a few months of Karma Yoga, try to meditate again.

Begin Practice:

  • Begin by scanning the body from head to toe, or toe to head, your choice.
  • Spend a few breath cycles in each major body part. Receive whatever arises moment to moment. Welcome sensation, emotion and thought and return to the body part if your mind wanders. If you notice any areas of tension, once you complete the full scan, return and just be present, breath and welcome.
  • Once you scan the body, let your attention rest on the base of your nose and watch the sensation of breathing. When sensations, emotions and thoughts arise, welcome them, even bless them and return to the breath.
  • Do your best not to pull anything towards you or push anything away. This process is ultimately not about having a special or supernatural experience but rather to gain peace of mind, expanded perception, focused attention, and understanding.
  • Remember just relax and be yourself.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: