Chart of the Self


This chart of the self was created by Ramji (James Swartz), with help from Christian Paaske. My wife Deva and I then made a few tweaks resulting in the above graphic. This chart is a wonderful depiction of the self, limitless-conscious-existence and all that appears within the self. It is also an incredible Vedanta teaching/learning tool.

The self is the substratum of all creation, that which cannot be reduced further. Through Maya, a conditioning agent (upadhi) within the self, the three gunas or qualities of consciousness combine to create the macrocosmic (creator) Jiva and microcosmic (created) jiva.

The three gunas (qualities of consciousness) are: sattva (intelligence), tamas (the raw material), and rajas (the projecting power of creation). Everything within the circle of Maya is the apparent self, also known as Mithya. Everything outside the circle is Satya, that which is always whole, complete and good – the real you!

The triangle represents the jiva or embodied soul which has three bodies – Gross, Subtle and Causal. The gross body includes the five elements, organs of perception, organs of action and the five pranas. The subtle body, contains the mind or psycho-emotional sheath which takes in and synthesizes sensory input through the organs of perception, the intellect or wisdom sheath, the discriminating faculty that then tells the third component, the ego/doer, what to do. A forth aspect of the subtle body is memory, not depicted here. The causal body is subconscious, and contains the seeds of past action, known as vasanas.

There are two OMs in this chart. The one above the circle of maya is the true self, original consciousness. The little OM within the subtle body, is reflected consciousness. Awareness is non-dual and object-less and therefore not perceivable by the gross sense organs. However, when the vasanas have been purified or neutralized through sadhana or practice, a reflection of true self is revealed to the jiva. For all intents and purposes a clear reflection of the self is as good as the self itself, just as its difficult to tell the difference between the moon in the sky and it’s reflection in a glassy lake.

The three primary yogic practices of purification include bhakti (devotion) for the mind/emotions, jnana (knowledge) for the intellect and karma yoga for the ego/doer. A fourth practice, triguna vibhava moderates the three gunas or qualities of consciousness, with the intention of reducing the predominance of rajas and tamas.

The above is a description of the microcosmic jiva, the body-mind-sense complex. The macrocosmic jiva is known as Isvara, the creator. When Maya conditions limitless conscious existence, Isvara the creator is manifest. Isvara is responsible for maintaining the dharma or structure of creation. For all intents and purposes, Maya and Isvara are synonymous.

Suffering results when we identify with the microcosmic jiva (consciousness plus the three bodies). Freedom results when we identify with our true self, Satchitananda, limitless, conscious existence.

To purchase the full Book of 10 Charts, exploring the timeless teachings of traditional Vedanta, created by Ramji, visit

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: