The Three Yogas of Vedanta

Vedanta delineates three broad categories of yoga. One can also call them three types of bhakti or devotion.

1. Karma (Action) Yoga

2. Upasana (Ashtanga) Yoga

3. Jnana Yoga (Self Inquiry)

Bhakti is not a separate yoga but rather the yogas and devotional energy that fuels them – that passion to connect to something higher, purify the subtle body, learn from the scripture and know the Self.

Yoga and knowledge are not apposed but rather complementary. The yogas prepare the mind for the assimilation of Self knowledge – understanding our essential nature as unmodified, all pervasive, conscious existence.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: