IMG_1048“When one completely renounces all the desires entertained by the mind, satisfied in the self, by the self, one is called a person of steady wisdom (sthitaprajna).”

Bhagavad Gita, Ch.2,V.55.

Welcome to Steady Wisdom, a site dedicated to the teachings of traditional Vedanta, offering a valid means of knowledge that removes ignorance, revealing the non-dual nature of reality. Vedanta is a complete teaching that provides knowledge of: 1) The Self – limitless existence consciousness, 2) Maya, a power within awareness that gives rise to 3) Isvara, the creator of the dhamric field (Jagat) or creation, and 4) Jivas (embodied souls). While the yogas (karma and upasana) are vital in preparing the mind, it is through jnana or knowledge that liberation is obtained.

Vedanta was neither channeled, nor invented by humans, it was revealed. Consider gravity, Newton did not invent it as it was already present. One day, when the moment was ripe, the knowledge of gravity was revealed and assimilated by humankind. Vedanta was revealed to the sattvic (pure) minds of Rishis (ascetic seers) and sages and refined over thousands of years. Vedanta as taught by Swami Paramarthananda, in the lineage Swami Dayananda Saraswati, back to Adi Shankara, is a very systematic path of knowledge that dissolves ignorance (binding desires and fears), revealing the true and essential nature of Self as non-dual, limitless, existence consciousness.

The Vedantic methodology begins with the teaching of “the fundamental problem,”
a sense of limitation or inadequacy felt by all who incarnate. This leads to the four pursuits or human goals. The teachings then shares that lasting happiness cannot be found in limited objects or experience, yet we spend great time and energy chasing illusive carrots. Happiness, or better yet contentment, is our nature and when we seek it outside ourselves, we actually obscure it. The teachings then continue methodically confronting ignorance at its roots, and when the time is right, the radiance of true Self that has always been present, shines forth.

Vedanta has three primary source texts: the Upanishads, Bhagavad Gita and Brahma Sutras. There are also many important subsidiary texts by teachers such as Adi Shankaracharya from the 8th century and Vidyaranya Swami from the 14th century.

Vedanta offers some unique features: 1) The qualifications or preparations for liberation, a readiness check list and practices in their own right, 2) A discussion of values or qualities naturally expressed by liberated jivas, 3) A detailed explanation of the Self, Maya, Isvara (creator), and creation which includes jivas (human beings) and 4) An exploration of karma yoga and upasana yoga which neutralize our conditioning (binding desires and fears) that prepare the mind for the final yoga, jnana, which leads to Self knowledge. Bhakti is not specified as a separate yoga but rather devotion is an integral part of karma, upasana and jnana yogas.

Moksha or freedom is the knowledge that objects and experience cannot bring lasting security, peace or happiness. Moksha obtains through dedicated practices – karma, upasana and jnana yoga, which transfer our identification with the limited body-mind-sense complex, to the Self – limitless existence consciousness – Paramatma/Brahman.

I share the information presented on this website as a passionate student of traditional Vedanta. My deepest gratitude to the sampradaya (lineage) beginning with Swami Paramarthananda, from Chennai, India.

Eaden Shantay, True Nature Healing Arts, Carbondale, CO








3 thoughts on “Welcome

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s